Skip to main content

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) were drawn up by a United Nations working group together with a multitude of stakeholders and were adopted by the UN General Assembly during the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit in New York, USA, on September 25, 2015.

A total of 193 UN member states committed to the 17 goals and 169 targets for global sustainable development and the related specific objectives. The SDGs were established as of January 1, 2016, and are designed to cover a period of 15 years (up to 2030). Particular emphasis was placed on the private sector’s role in reaching these goals.

We at voestalpine contribute substantially to achieving the following 12 SDGs through our business activities.

Goal 3: Good health and well-being

Goal 4: Quality education

Goal 5: Gender equality

Goal 6: Clean water and sanitation

Goal 7: Affordable and clean energy

Goal 8: Decent work and economic growth

Goal 9: Industry, innovation and infrastructure

Goal 11: Responsible consumption and production

Goal 12: Responsible consumption and production

Goal 13: Climate action

Goal 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Goal 17: Partnerships for the goals