General Information

Stainless alloys are divided into four basic groups: martensitic stainless steels, ferritic stainless steels, austenitic stainless steels, and precipitation hardening stainless steels.

When nickel is added, for instance, the austenite structure of iron is stabilized. This crystal structure makes such steels virtually non-magnetic and less brittle at low temperatures. For greater hardness and strength, more carbon is added, and these grades are defined as ferritic or martensitic alloys.

The ferritic types achieve moderate increases in strength by cold working. The martensitic types become martensitic during heat treatment and achieve excellent strength.


Alloy BÖHLER brand WstNo. UNS ISO AMS ASTM Others
 – N685 1.2361, 1.4112 S44003 X91CrMoV18
440C N695 1.3544, 1.4125 S44004 X102CrMo17 5618, 5630
52100 R100 1.3505 100Cr6 6444
M50 R250 1.3551 80MoCrV42-16 6491
M50Nil R350 ~13MoCrNiV42-16-14 6278
V416 1.4005 S41600 X12CrS13 5610L A582 AISI: 416
VC140 1.4006 S41000 X12Cr13 A276, A182 AISI: 410
403 N100 1.4006 X12Cr13 403
13Cr VC150 1.4021 S42000 X20Cr13 A276 AISI: 420
420 N320 1.4021 X20Cr13 420
431 N352 1.4044, 1.4057 X17CrNi16-2 431
X30 N360 1.4108 S42027 X30CrMoN15-1 5898A A756, F899
F6NM N400, N403 1.4313 S41500 X3CrNiMo 13-4 A182 AISI: F6NM
Super 13Cr 1.4415 S41425, S41427 X2CrNiMoV13-5-2 A182
N404 1.4418 X4CrNiMo 16-5-1
 – N690 1.4528 X105CrCoMo18-2
9Cr1Mo 1.7385 K90941 12CrMo9-1
Please use a browser that is not outdated.

You are using an outdated web browser.

Errors may occur when using the website.