Think future. Think steel war das Motto des voestlapine Automotive Engineers’ Day

Automotive Engineers’ Day

An afternoon filled with the magic of steel

Why does Martin Peter from Magna Steyr see high-strength steel grades gaining ground? What BMW demands from its suppliers in terms of sustainability and how voestalpine focuses on CO2 reduction. Or what does Edip Ozer Arman of Toyota mean by the "magic of steel" in the context of collaborative steel development? Virtual participants learned this and more at the first Automotive Engineers' Day. 

Originally planned as a classic event in Linz, it was re-designed as an online event under the current conditions. More than 600 registered participants from 25 countries exceeded all expectations. Many thanks to the experts from Magna Steyr, Toyota Motor Europe, BMW Group and voestalpine for their in-depth future-oriented sessions. We at voestalpine will continue to cultivate our ambition to always be there personally as a contact partner and to further promote expert exchanges in an uncomplicated and relaxed setting.

Review of sessions

A brief overview of the session content can be found here. If you are interested in watching the stream and need further information, please contact us at automotive-notes@voestalpine.com.


Peter Heinzl from voestalpine gave a presentation on industrial trends at the beginning of the voestalpine Automotive Engineers' Day.
Peter Heinzl, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Sales Director Automotive Industry

Industrial trends 

Five trends, many effects and how voestalpine helps its customers cope. Electrification, sustainability, digitalization, autonomous driving and advancing globalization/localization are cutting-edge topics.

Electrification

The trend has arrived, which the number of registrations clearly shows. Enormous investments are required, and money is scarce. So we must think carefully about what we can do ourselves and what we can outsource. Falling entry barriers are quickly opening the market for new players.

Glocalization

Trade barriers, Evergrande and an uncertain climate are leading players to question global supply chains. Away from factory specialization and toward market-driven production. Will electromobility perhaps lead to a European Spring?

Sustainability

After electrification of the car, the next step is a carbon-neutral supply chain. “Green steel" only makes sense if the energy it requires is also green. There are plans, but they have to be implemented and financed.

Digitalization

Missing borders between customers and suppliers, galvanizing lines that communicate online with press lines, simultaneous entry of B2C business models in traditionally B2B areas ... Are you ready for this? “Sales 2030" by voestalpine will take you on a journey.

Autonomous driving

What may be lost in driving pleasure may be gained in another way. Catching a nap in your car on the way to the office, your first video conference in the middle of a traffic jam? New designs will come, new interior designs will be the result, and the right materials will have to be developed to meet the demand.


Steel in lightweight automotive design 

The automotive industry is facing new challenges such as autonomous driving or further electrification. In terms of materials, joining properties and design, steel continues to be an essential element in lightweight construction.

Martin Peter from Magna Steyr spoke at the voestalpine Automotive Engineers' Day on the topic of steel in lightweight automotive design.
Martin Peter, Magna Steyr, Vice President Engineering

Safety remains an issue

The issues are being driven by the NCAP committees, customer requirements and legislatures. At Magna, it's all about using the right material in the right place coupled with the need for economy and volumes. Cost-effective and efficient materials are in high demand. Steel will continue to have its place in the future.

Product development parameters

  • Material: What is the right material with the right properties for the requirement at hand?
  • Joining technology: Which techniques make it possible to create products that meet every requirement in a balanced cost ratio?
  • Design: Design concepts must also make large-volume production economically feasible. Steel passenger compartments are state of the art and will remain so.

Car body materials

A modern car body must meet safety, cost and weight requirements consisting of a mix of materials with both aluminum and a wide variety of steels.

Further development Steels

Further development of higher-strength and high-strength steels is an important topic, and their formability is an important criterion. Steels for cold forming are generally advancing into the range of hot-forming steels.

Magna, a partner in many ways

Magna sees the trend of more new players entering the mobility market alongside the traditional OEMs and is a reliable partner from structural development to series production and large-volume manufacturing.


Claudia Maasdorp from BMW spoke at the voestalpine Automotive Engineers' Day on the topic of making BMW sustainable.
Claudia Maasdorp, BMW Group, Project Management Sustainability Production

We make BMW sustainable 

BMW has been working very intensively for some time on reducing CO2 emissions in the product use phase. The company has set itself ambitious goals for its production and supply chain in an effort to comply with the Paris Climate Agreement and will achieve these in collaboration with its suppliers.

BMW Sustainability Strategy 2030

BMW is the first premium car manufacturer to give equal weighting to sustainability and financial reporting. Our claim: We don't create sustainability at BMW. We make BMW sustainable.

Concrete targets through the year 2030

BMW is optimizing processes across the entire value chain. The target figures reflect the CO2 saved per vehicle:

  • Supply chain minus 20%
  • Production minus 80%
  • Vehicle use phase minus 40%

Carbon reduction in the supply chain

The most effective levers for carbon reduction are being identified and pursued in collaboration with suppliers. The carbon footprint is also becoming an award criterion in decision-making processes.

Carbon-reduced production

Having reduced CO2 emissions in production by 78% per vehicle since 2006, the emissions of the BMW Group (Scope 1 and 2) will be reduced by a further 80% between 2019 and 2030.

Carbon reduction in the vehicle use phase

Increased electric vehicle volumes by 2030 is the basis for carbon reduction by 40% in the use phase. The objective is for electric vehicles produced in the BMW Group to be sustainable right from the production stage. Ambition: The greenest electric car comes from BMW.


Think green. Think steel.

Reducing CO2 emissions in steel production is at the top of our agenda, and voestalpine is committed to environmental responsibility and leads the way in many respects.

Michaela Kraus from voestalpine spoke at the voestalpine Automotive Engineers' Day. Her remarks were entitled “Think green. Think steel.”
Michaela Kraus, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Product Management Sustainability

Environmental investments and results

voestalpine takes climate protection seriously and in recent decades has reduced its air emissions and energy consumption to a technological minimum. Over the past ten years, the voestalpine Steel Division has invested 1.8 billion euros in environmental protection measures. It has been possible to reduce energy consumption by 19% and carbon emissions by 17%.

Sustainable logistics

More than half a million tons of goods are transported by rail. Empty transport runs are avoided altogether. Steel coils are transported to the customer, and scrap is returned to Linz on the same railcars. This saves roughly 8000 tons of CO2 emissions each year.

Sustainable changes in technology

The most advanced pilot plant for the production of green hydrogen in the steelmaking industry is in operation at the Linz production site. A gradual switch from the coal-based blast furnace route to electric arc furnaces powered by green electricity is currently being implemented. Numerous research projects are also working on breakthrough technologies that allow climate-neutral steel production.

Supply of green steel

Process optimization projects at voestalpine have made it possible to reduce direct CO2 emissions by 10%. According to the lifecycle assessment method, this corresponds to roughly 7% on a product basis. Customers of voestalpine are presented with product-based carbon footprint certificates. Customer service representative will be happy to provide further information.


Edip Ozer Arman from Toyota Motor Europe spoke at the voestalpine Automotive Engineers' Day on the topic of 1200 MPa AHSS with superior bendability.
Edip Ozer Arman, Toyota Motor Europe Nv/Sa, Technical Manager R&D Material Engineering

1200 MPa AHSS with superior bendability

Implementation of a joint development project between voestalpine and Toyota for a galvannealed 1200 MPa AHSS grade with superior bendability.

Requirements in fields of application

The steel grade must meet high safety and corrosion protection requirements and must allow complex geometries. The primary application is in the interior, where the most complex part is the lower end of the A pillar with a sharp radius.

Material specifications and steel development

AHSS standard steels did not meet the yield strength, elongation, tensile strength and bendability requirements. A special microstructure with a very fine and homogeneous distribution of elements had to be achieved in order to obtain levels of sufficient global and local ductility. The optimum balance between chemical composition and the annealing cycle was the success factor.

Application and benefit

Excellent steel grade properties enable efficient mass production of complex parts with galvannealed coatings. Another advantage is a weight savings of 1.5 kg per component. These properties also make the steel grade interesting for use in less complex parts.


Steel in the battery box

Battery boxes are a central element in hybrid and electric vehicles. Crash resistance and fire safety are essential factors. But weight optimization, cost-effectiveness and a green footprint are also in demand. Steel can meet these requirements.

Andrea Tuksa from voestalpine gave a presentation at the voestalpine Automotive Engineers' Day on the topic of steel in the battery box.
Andrea Tuksa, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Technical Customer Service Automotive

Crash safety

Protecting the battery cells in the event of a crash is paramount. Standards such as ECE R100 and GB/T 31467.3 specify load cases for front and side impacts of 100 kN. Innovative voestalpine steels support engineers in achieving optimum crash performance.

Fire protection

Vehicle occupant safety and providing sufficient time for occupants to leave the vehicle are top priorities. Passenger compartment fires can reach short-term temperature peaks of up to 1200 °C. Steel has a melting point of roughly 1400 °C and provides a higher level of safety. (The melting point of aluminum is roughly 660 °C.)

Weight and economy

Steel weighs more than aluminum, for example, but provides economic advantages that aluminum does not. Hybrid construction methods can nearly completely compensate for the weight disadvantage, especially in large quantities. Cost savings of up to 30% can be reached intelligently selecting the design, material and production method.

Battery box expertise at voestalpine

voestalpine has established a great deal of expertise in the field of battery boxes and has tested a variety of different battery box tray and frame designs. The result is that no single solution can address every issue. With its technological expertise and steel portfolio, voestalpine provides competent and uncomplicated support.


Gernot Trattnig from voestalpine spoke at the voestalpine Automotive Engineers' Day on the topic of knowing how to support engineers.
Gernot Trattnig, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Senior Researcher Simulation of Forming Technologies

Know how to support engineers

voestalpine is a partner who can offer more than just good steels. The technical experts at voestalpine provide materials, technological expertise and comprehensive support for development engineers.

voestalpine product range

voestalpine supplies a comprehensive range of cold-rolled and hot-rolled steels for cold and hot forming. The forming and strength properties of the steels can be tailored to nearly every requirement.

Support for cold forming

The material cards provided by voestalpine for FE simulation are based on a wide range of material tests. Customers will find them in the AutoForm, PAM-Stamp, Stampack databases. LS-Dyna material cards are available upon request from Dynamore or voestalpine.

Support in hot forming

Tensile tests that simulate the process temperature curves are the basis for the material cards in the field of hot forming. Using the hot forming simulator at voestalpine, simulation models can be easily validated for all manufactured components. Models for the phs-directform® method are being provided for PAM-Stamp and will be implemented in the next AutoForm release.

Support for crash simulation

voestalpine provides material cards for all relevant crash solvers as well as for MATFEM GenYld.

Further support services

voestalpine offers sample material for small-scale tests for approval and validation. The Steel Technical Center of voestalpine also conducts tests in the areas of trimming, forming, welding, bonding, coating and corrosion. The test results and the testing environment are available for joint development and research projects.


Panel discussion: Steel still going strong?

Interest in the topics was reflected in the abundance of questions that came from the participants. They were answered by the experts following each session and in the concluding panel discussion. Here’s a selection of questions and answers:

Experts answered questions at the voestalpine Automotive Engineers' Day.
Panel discussion: Edip Ozer Arman, Toyota Motor Europe Nv/Sa | Peter Heinzl, voestalpine Stahl GmbH | Martin Peter, Magna Steyr | Andreas Pichler, voestalpine Stahl GmbH | Moderation: Lukas Schweighofer (2. v.l.)

Future steel development requirements? 

High-strength and ultra-high-strength steels are in high demand. The challenge here is to achieve strength with best formability. If you ask me what I say as a steel user, WE WANT IT ALL!

Edip Ozer Arman, Toyota Motor Europe Nv/Sa, Technical Manager R&D Material Engineering

Edip Ozer Arman, Toyota Motor Europe Nv/Sa, Technical Manager R&D Material Engineering

High-quality steels for lightweight design simply for cost reasons? 

The right material in the right place is essential. High-end steels in critical positions and less expensive ones where requirements are lower. In general, steel is the most cost-effective solution when compared with other materials. The next steps will be to achieve improvement in joining properties, even in supposedly simpler grades, or to produce even the highest-quality grades with a high level of scrap content.

Andreas Pichler, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Head of Research and Development, Coil Business Unit

Andreas Pichler, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Head of Research and Development, Coil Business Unit

How far has voestalpine come with respect to green steel? 

Certified green steel is already available in our low-carbon production. The product is scalable and can be allocated to larger or smaller volumes by means of allocation mechanisms. The business model and pricing have been defined, and capacities are limited for 2022. Interested parties are kindly asked to contact us.

Peter Heinzl, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Sales Director Automotive Industry

Peter Heinzl, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Sales Director Automotive Industry

What does the automotive industry want from steelmakers? 

Development of strategies and answers to trends, particularly sustainability, will be the focus. For instance, the supply chain from the ore to the end product must be transparent. Flexibility in ultra-high-strength steels to meet all component production requirements is also essential. I believe that we will successfully meet the challenges by working together in partnerships.

Martin Peter, Magna Steyr, Vice President Engineering

Martin Peter, Magna Steyr, Vice President Engineering

Think future. Think steel war das Motto des voestlapine Automotive Engineers’ Day

Automotive Engineers’ Day

Ein Nachmittag voller “Magic of Steel”

Warum Martin Peter von Magna Steyr hochfeste Stahlgüten im Vormarsch sieht? Was BMW nachhaltig von seinen Lieferanten fordert und wie voestalpine den CO2-Reduktionsball aufnimmt? Oder was meint Edip Ozer Arman von Toyota mit der „Magic of Steel” im Zusammenhang mit einer kooperativen Stahlentwicklung? Das und mehr erfuhren die virtuell Teilnehmenden am ersten Automotive Engineers’ Day.

Ursprünglich als klassische Veranstaltung in Linz geplant, wurde er den Umständen entsprechend, als Online-Event gestaltet. Weit über 600 Teilnehmeranmeldungen aus 25 Ländern übertrafen alle Erwartungen. Vielen Dank den Experten von Magna Steyr, Toyota Motor Europe, der BMW Group und der voestalpine für ihre fundierten zukunftsorientierten Sessions. Wir von voestalpine werden unsere Ambition als Ansprechpartner stets persönlich da zu sein, weiterpflegen und den Austausch von Fachleuten in einem unkomplizierten entspannten Rahmen weiter fördern.

Sessions Review

Einen knappen Überblick über die Inhalte der Sessions finden Sie hier. Sollten Sie Interesse am Stream zum Nachschauen haben und weitere Informationen benötigen, wenden Sie sich gerne an uns: automotive-notes@voestalpine.com


Peter Heinzl von voestalpine referierte am voestalpine Automotive Engineers’ Day zum Thema „Branchentrends“.
Peter Heinzl, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Sales Director Automotive Industry

Branchentrends

5 Trends, viele Auswirkungen und wie die voestalpine ihren Kunden dabei hilft, diese zu bewältigen. Elektrifizierung, Nachhaltigkeit, Digitalisierung, autonomes Fahren und fortschreitende Globalisierung/Lokalisierung sind die brennenden Themen.

Elektrifizierung

Der Trend ist angekommen, wie die Zulassungszahlen zeigen. Enorme Investments sind notwendig – Geld ist knapp. Man wird sich somit gut überlegen, was man selbst macht und was man outsourct. Sinkende Eintrittsbarrieren eröffnen neuen Playern schnell den Marktzugang.

Glokalisation

Handelshemmnisse, Evergrande und ein unsicheres Klima führen zu einem Hinterfragen der globalen Supply Chains. Weg von Werksspezialisierung hin zu marktgerechtem Produzieren – hat man mit Elektromobilität vielleicht eine Chance für einen europäischen Frühling?

Nachhaltigkeit

Nach der Elektrifizierung des Autos ist der nächste Schritt die CO2-neutrale Suppply Chain. „Grüner Stahl“ macht aber nur Sinn, wenn auch die Energie dafür grün erzeugt wird. Konzepte gibt es – es gilt sie umzusetzen und auch entsprechend zu finanzieren.

Digitalisierung

Fehlende Grenzen zwischen Kunde und Lieferant, Verzinkungen kommunizieren mit Presswerken online, gleichzeitig ein Einzug von B2C-Geschäftsmodellen im traditionellen B2B-Bereich – sind Sie dafür bereit? „Sales 2030“ der voestalpine nimmt Sie mit auf die Reise.

Autonomes Fahren

Was vielleicht an Fahrfreude verloren geht, kann auf anderer Seite gewonnen werden. Schlafen im Auto am Weg ins Büro, die erste Videokonferenz gleich im Stau? Neue Designs werden kommen, neue Innenraumkonzepte dadurch nötig – es gilt, die richtigen Materialien dafür zu entwickeln.


Steel in automotive lightweight construction

Auf die Automobilindustrie kommen neue Herausforderungen zu wie z.B. autonomes Fahren oder die weitere Elektrifizierung. In Bezug auf Werkstoff, Füge-/Verbindungseigenschaften und Konzeptfindung ist Stahl nach wie vor ein wesentliches Element im Leichtbau.

Martin Peter von Magna Steyr referierte am voestalpine Automotive Engineers’ Day zum Thema „Steel in automotive lightweight construction“.
Martin Peter, Magna Steyr, Vice President Engineering

Sicherheit bleibt Thema 

Das Thema wird getrieben von den NCAP-Gremien, Kundenanforderungen und der Legislative. Bei Magna gilt, den richtigen Werkstoff, am richtigen Platz einzusetzen – gepaart mit der Anforderung an Wirtschaftlichkeit und Volumen. Hier sind kostengünstige, effiziente Werkstoffe gefragt. Stahl wird auch in Zukunft seinen Platz haben.

Parameter der Produktentwicklung

  • Material: Was ist das richtige Material mit den richtigen Eigenschaften für die jeweiligen Anforderungen?
  • Verbindungstechnik: Welche Techniken ermöglichen es, Produkte zu schaffen, die alle Anforderungen in einem ausgewogenen Kostenverhältnis erfüllen?
  • Design: Designkonzepte müssen auch eine großvolumige Fertigung wirtschaftlich ermöglichen. Stahlzellen sind State of the Art und werden es bleiben.

Materialkonzepte Karosserie

Eine moderne Karosserie, die Sicherheit-, Kosten- und Gewichtsanforderungen zu erfüllen hat, wird aus einem Materialmix bestehen, wobei sowohl Aluminium wie verschiedenste Stähle zum Einsatz kommen.

Weiterentwicklung Stähle

Höher und hochfeste Stähle weiterzuentwickeln, ist ein wichtiges Thema, wobei ihre Umformbarkeit ein Kriterium ist. Stähle für Kaltumformung dringen dabei generell immer mehr in den Bereich der Warmumformstähle vor.

Magna – umfassender Partner

Magna sieht den Trend, dass neben den traditionellen OEMs immer mehr neue Player am Mobilitätsmarkt eintreten und ist der Partner von der Strukturentwicklung bis zur Serienreife und der großvolumigen Fertigung.


Claudia Maasdorp von BMW referierte am voestalpine Automotive Engineers’ Day zum Thema „We make BMW sustainable”.
Claudia Maasdorp, BMW Group, Project Management Sustainability Production

We make BMW sustainable

Für die Nutzungsphase seiner Produkte arbeitet BMW schon länger sehr intensiv an einer Reduktion des CO2-Austoßes. Für die Produktion und die Lieferkette hat sich das Unternehmen große Ziele zur Erfüllung des Pariser Klimaabkommens gesteckt und wird diese gemeinsam mit seinen Lieferanten erreichen.

BMW Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie 2030

BMW ist der erste Premium-Automobilhersteller, der Nachhaltigkeits- und Finanzberichterstattung gleich gewichtet. Der Anspruch: Wir machen nicht Nachhaltigkeit bei BMW. Wir machen BMW nachhaltig.

Konkrete Ziele bis 2030

BMW optimiert über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette. Die angestrebten Zahlen beziehen sich auf die CO2-Reduktion pro Fahrzeug:

  • Lieferkette – minus 20 %
  • Produktion – minus 80 %
  • Fahrzeugnutzungsphase – minus 40 %

CO2-Reduktion Lieferkette

In partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit mit Lieferanten werden die wirksamsten Hebel zur CO2-Reduktion identifiziert und verfolgt. Der CO2-Fußabdruck wird auch zu einem Vergabekriterium in den Entscheidungsprozessen.

CO2-Reduktion Produktion

Nachdem das Unternehmen die CO2-Emissionen je Fahrzeug in der Produktion seit 2006 bereits um 78 % reduziert hat, sollen die Emissionen der BMW Group (Scope 1+2) von 2019 ausgehend bis 2030 um abermals 80 % reduziert werden.

CO2-Reduktion Fahrzeugnutzungsphase

Die Zunahme der E-Fahrzeuge bis 2030 ist die Basis für die angestrebte CO2-Reduktion um 40 % über die Nutzungsphase. Das Ziel ist, dass E-Fahrzeuge der BMW Group bereits in der Herstellung nachhaltig sind. Ambition: Das grünste Elektroauto kommt von BMW.


Think green. Think steel.

Die Reduktion von CO2-Emissionen in der Stahlproduktion steht ganz oben auf der Agenda. voestalpine bekennt sich nicht nur zur Umweltverantwortung, sondern geht in vielen Bereichen voraus.

Michaela Kraus von voestalpine referierte am voestalpine Automotive Engineers’ Day zum Thema „Think green. Think steel”.
Michaela Kraus, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Produktmanagement Nachhaltigkeit

Umweltinvestitionen und Ergebnisse 

voestalpine nimmt den Klimaschutz ernst und hat Luftemissionen und Energieverbrauch in den vergangenen Dekaden bereits auf das technologische Minimum reduziert. In den letzten 10 Jahren investierte die voestalpine Steel Division 1,8 Mrd. Euro in Umweltschutzmaßnahmen. Es gelang, den Energieverbrauch um 19 % und die CO2-Emissionen um 17 % zu senken.

Nachhaltige Logistik

Mehr als eine halbe Million Tonnen an Gütern wird auf der Schiene transportiert. Leerfahrten werden vermieden. So werden Stahl-Coils zum Kunden und Schrott retour nach Linz geführt. Das spart jedes Jahr ca. 8.000 Tonnen CO2.

Nachhaltiger Technologiewandel

Am Werksgelände in Linz ist die fortschrittlichste Pilotanlage zur Erzeugung von grünem Wasserstoff in der Stahlindustrie im Betrieb. Die schrittweise Umstellung von der kohlebasierten Hochofenroute auf mit Ökostrom betriebene Elektrolichtbogenöfen ist in Umsetzung. Weiters wird in zahlreichen Forschungsprojekten an Breakthrough-Technologien gearbeitet, die eine klimaneutrale Stahlherstellung erlauben.

Grüner Stahl im Angebot

Durch Prozessoptimierungen hat voestalpine das Potenzial einer 10%igen Reduktion der direkten CO2-Emissionen. Das entspricht, nach der Life Cycle Assessment Methode, ca. 7 % auf Produktbasis. Kunden erhalten ein Zertifikat über den Carbon Footprint des Produktes. Die voestalpine Kundenberater informieren.


Edip Ozer Arman von Toyota Motor Europe referierte am voestalpine Automotive Engineers’ Day zum Thema „1200 MPa AHSS with superior bendability”.
Edip Ozer Arman, Toyota Motor Europe Nv/Sa, Technical Manager R&D Material Engineering

1200 MPa AHSS with superior bendability

Projekt und Umsetzung der gemeinsamen Entwicklung von voestalpine und Toyota einer GA-beschichteten 1200 MPa AHSS-Güte mit überlegener Biegbarkeit.

Anforderungen und Einsatzbereiche

Die Stahlsorte hat hohe Anforderungen an Sicherheit und Korrosionsschutz zu erfüllen und muss komplexe Geometrien ermöglichen. Haupteinsatzgebiet ist der Innenraum, wobei der komplexeste Teil der untere Bereich der A-Säule mit einem scharfen Radius ist.

Materialspezifikationen und Stahlentwicklung

AHSS-Standardstähle erfüllten nicht die Anforderungen bezüglich Streckgrenze, Dehnung, Zugfestigkeit und Biegeeignung. Eine besondere Mikrostruktur mit einer sehr feinen und homogenen Verteilung der Gefügeelemente musste erzielt werden, um sowohl eine gute globale als auch gute lokale Duktilität zu erreichen. Die optimale Balance zwischen der chemischen Zusammensetzung und dem Glühzyklus war der Erfolgsfaktor.

Einsatz und Nutzen

Die hervorragenden Eigenschaften der Stahlgüte ermöglichen eine effiziente Massenproduktion von komplexen Teilen mit GA-Beschichtung. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die Gewichtsersparnis von 1,5 kg pro Bauteil. Die Eigenschaften machen die Stahlgüte auch für den Einsatz bei weniger komplexen Teilen interessant.


Steel in the battery box

Batteriekästen sind ein zentrales Element in Hybrid- und E-Fahrzeugen. Crashfestigkeit und Brandsicherheit sind wesentliche Faktoren. Aber auch Gewichtsoptimierung, Wirtschaftlichkeit und ein „grüner Footprint“ sind gefordert. Stahl kann diese Anforderungen erfüllen.

Andrea Tuksa von voestalpine referierte am voestalpine Automotive Engineers’ Day zum Thema „Steel in the battery box”.
Andrea Tuksa, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Technical Customer Service Automotive

Crashsicherheit

Der Schutz der Batteriezellen im Crashfall ist oberstes Gebot. Normen wie die ECE R100 oder GB/T 31467.3 geben die Lastfälle für einen Pfahl- oder seitlichen Aufprall mit 100kN an. Innovative voestalpine-Stähle unterstützen in der Zielerreichung einer optimalen Crashperformance.

Brandschutz

Die Sicherheit der Fahrzeuginsassen und damit auch genügend Zeit das Fahrzeug zu verlassen, hat Priorität. Bei einem internen Zellbrand werden kurzzeitig Temperaturen bis zu 1.200 °C erreicht. Stahl mit seinem Schmelzpunkt von ca. 1.400 °C gibt Sicherheit (Schmelzpunkt Aluminium ca. 660 °C).

Gewicht und Wirtschaftlichkeit

Stahl wiegt mehr als z. B. Alu, bietet aber wirtschaftliche Vorteile. Mit Hybridbauweisen kann man den Gewichtsnachteil großteils nahezu ausgleichen – und speziell bei großen Stückzahlen können über Design, Materialauswahl und Fertigung im Kostenvergleich bis zu 30 % gespart werden.

voestalpine Kompetenz Batteriekasten

voestalpine hat Kompetenz im Bereich Batteriekasten aufgebaut und auch verschiedene Batteriekasten-Designs (Wannendesign und Rahmendesign) untersucht. Das Ergebnis: eine „One Solution fits all“-Lösung gibt es nicht. Mit dem Know-how und dem Stahlportfolio unterstützt voestalpine kompetent und unkompliziert.


Gernot Trattnig von voestalpine referierte am voestalpine Automotive Engineers’ Day zum Thema „Know howto support engineers”.
Gernot Trattnig, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Senior Researcher Umformen und Bauteilverhalten

Know how to support engineers

voestalpine ist ein Partner, der mehr als gute Stähle liefert. Die Experten der voestalpine bieten materialtechnisches Know-how und unterstützen Entwicklungsingenieure umfassend.

voestalpine Produktspektrum 

voestalpine bietet ein umfassendes Spektrum an kalt- und warmgewalzten Stählen für die Kalt- und Warmumformung mit Umform- und Festigkeitseigenschaften für nahezu jede Anforderung.

Support Kaltumformung 

Die von voestalpine bereitgestellten Materialkarten für die FE-Simulation basieren auf vielfältigen Materialversuchen. Kunden finden sie in den Datenbanken: AutoForm, PAM-Stamp, Stampack; für LS-Dyna auf Anfrage bei Dynamore oder bei voestalpine.

Support Warmumformung

Zugversuche, in denen der Temperaturverlauf im Prozess nachgestellt wird, sind eine Basis der Materialkarten für die Warmumformung. Mit Hilfe des voestalpine-Warmumformsimulators können Simulationsmodelle einfach an den hergestellten Bauteilen validiert werden. Aktuell werden Modelle für die Umformung im phs-directform®-Verfahren für PAM-Stamp bereitgestellt und in der nächsten AutoForm Release implementiert.

Support Crashsimulation

voestalpine stellt Materialkarten für alle relevanten Crashsolver sowie für MATFEM GenYld bereit.

Weitere Support Services

voestalpine bietet Probenmaterial für kleintechnische Versuche, Zulassung und Validierung. Das voestalpine-Stahl-Technikum unternimmt auch Versuche für Beschnitt, Umformen, Schweißen, Kleben, Lackierung und Korrosion. Das Know-how, die Ergebnisse sowie die Umgebung stehen für die Zusammenarbeit bei Entwicklungs- und Forschungsprojekten ebenfalls zur Verfügung.


Talkrunde: Steel – still going strong?

Das Interesse an den Themen zeigten sich in einer Fülle an Fragen der TeilnehmerInnen. Im Anschluss an die jeweiligen Sessions und in der abschließenden Talkrunde wurden sie von den Experten beantwortet. Eine Auswahl:

Experten beantworteten Fragen am voestalpine Automotive Engineers’ Day.
Expertenrunde: Edip Ozer Arman, Toyota Motor Europe Nv/Sa | Peter Heinzl, voestalpine Stahl GmbH | Martin Peter, Magna Steyr | Andreas Pichler, voestalpine Stahl GmbH | Moderation: Lukas Schweighofer (2. v.l.)

Die Anforderungen an zukünftige Stahlentwicklungen?

Hoch und höchstfeste Stähle sind gefragt. Die Herausforderung ist dabei, Festigkeit bei bester Umformbarkeit zu erreichen. Wenn Sie mich als Vertreter der Stahlanwender fragen: We want it all!

Edip Ozer Arman, Toyota Motor Europe Nv/Sa, Technical Manager R&D Material Engineering

Edip Ozer Arman, Toyota Motor Europe Nv/Sa, Technical Manager R&D Material Engineering

Hochwertige Stähle für Leichtbau, einfach aus Kostengründen?

Das richtige Material am richtigen Ort, ist ganz wesentlich. Top-Stähle an kritischen Positionen und günstigere, wo es von den Anforderungen her möglich ist. Generell ist Stahl im Vergleich mit anderen Werkstoffen die kosteneffizienteste Lösung. Nächste Schritte und Aufgaben werden sein, Verbesserungen beim Thema Fügeeigenschaften auch bei vermeintlich „einfachen“ Güten zu erreichen oder alle Güten, auch die hochwertigsten, mit einem hohen Schrottanteil zu fertigen.

Andreas Pichler, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Leitung Forschung & Entwicklung, Business Unit Band

Andreas Pichler, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Leitung Forschung & Entwicklung Business Unit Band

Wie weit ist man bei voestalpine mit „Green Steel“?

Zertifizierter Green Steel ist mit unserer CO2-reduzierten Produktion bereits erhältlich. Das Produkt ist skalierbar und mittels Allokationsmechanismen umlegbar auf größere oder kleinere Volumina. Das Geschäftsmodell und die Bepreisung sind definiert – die Mengen für 2022 in der Kapazität limitiert. Interessierte bitten wir, sich mit uns in Verbindung zu setzen.

Peter Heinzl, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Sales Director Automotive Industry

Peter Heinzl, voestalpine Stahl GmbH, Sales Director Automotive Industry

Wünsche der Automobilindustrie an Stahlhersteller?

Strategien und Antworten für die Trends zu entwickeln und zu bieten und vor allem Nachhaltigkeit werden im Fokus stehen. Zum Beispiel gilt es, die Lieferkette vom Erz bis zum Endprodukt transparent zu gestalten. Auch die Flexibilität von höchstfesten Stählen, dass sie alle Anforderungen für die Teileproduktion erfüllen, ist wichtig. Ich denke, mit partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit werden wir den Herausforderungen erfolgreich begegnen.

Martin Peter, Magna Steyr, Vice President Engineering

Martin Peter, Magna Steyr, Vice President Engineering