Toyota – always a better way

TBF steel development for Toyota

"Always a better way" is the brand promise of Toyota. It expresses the philosophy of a global company with continuing efforts to further develop future solutions in the field of mobility.

Lighter-weight and more compact seat rails. Toyota has developed a new seat rail design. The seat rails were designed for the Toyota C-HR, a new crossover. The new designs save an entire kilogram of weight per car as a result of reduced material thickness and compact design (reduced height). The structures are optimized in both moving elements as well as the support rail and allow efficient manufacturing processes. The ambitious design and high level of safety that must be guaranteed by seat rails place high demands on the material.

Toyota a reliable partner to voestalpine in Europe. Manufactured in the Toyota factory in Turkey, the Toyota C-HR is sold across the world. The European headquarters, Toyota Motor Europe, selected voestalpine as a key supplier.

As a globally active automaker, local availability of materials and components is important to us. voestalpine has a reputation in Europe of being an innovative steelmaker. The results delivered by voestalpine confirm our decision.
Gerald Killmann, Vice President Toyota Motor Europe
Our responsibility lies in supplying high-strength steels for complex components with the best forming properties while at the same time meeting all customer specifications. We were able to achieve this with great success.
Thomas Hebesberger, Process Manager in Material Development of Thin Sheet Grades and Silicon Grades

TBF steel with high total elongation value. Based on the given specifications, voestalpine developed a new steel grade in the TBF980-MPa class. The main challenge was to combine high total elongation value with a high hole expansion value. The TBF solution (TRIP bainitic-ferrite matrix) guarantees the perfect combination of these two values within the narrowest tolerances and features excellent processing properties. The project was kicked off in 2010 when the respective developers were given the go-ahead. Production of the C-HR began on schedule in the fall of 2016.

Partner to OEMs throughout Europe and the world. For half a century now, voestalpine has not only been a supplier but also a strategic partner to European OEMs in the field of high-quality niche products. Cooperation with Toyota began more recently, but this project was not the first. We have been in a lively exchange with Toyota since the beginning of the century and delivered our first material to them in 2005. The technical expertise of the voestalpine team members is held in high esteem, but also their ability to adapt to customer-specific processes in the course of project execution is a skill that is appreciated by partners both in Europe and the Far East. The successful project has already resulted directly in intensified discussions about new collaborative efforts.

Toyota – always a better way

TBF-Stahlentwicklung für Toyota

„Always a better way“ ist das Markenversprechen von Toyota. Es drückt auch die Philosophie des Weltunternehmens aus, mit permanenter Weiterentwicklung die Mobilität der Zukunft zu gestalten.

Leichtere und kompaktere Sitzschienen. Toyota hat ein neues Sitzschienen-Design entwickelt. Es kommt beim Toyota C-HR, dem neuen SUV-Hybrid, zum Einsatz und spart durch die reduzierte Materialdicke und das kompakte Design, bei dem auch die Höhe reduziert wurde, ein Kilogramm Gewicht pro Auto. Die optimierten Strukturen, sowohl im beweglichen Element wie in der Aufnahmeschiene, ermöglichen darüber hinaus eine noch effizientere Fertigung. Das anspruchsvolle Design und die hohe Sicherheit, die Sitzschienen zu gewährleisten haben, stellen hohe Anforderungen an den Werkstoff.

voestalpine ein verlässlicher Partner von Toyota in Europa. Gefertigt im türkischen Toyota-Werk ist der C-HR für den weltweiten Verkauf bestimmt. Das europäische Headquarter, Toyota Motor Europe, entschied sich für voestalpine als Schlüssellieferant.

Als weltweit tätiger Autobauer ist für uns auch die lokale Verfügbarkeit wichtig. voestalpine hat in Europa den Ruf, ein innovativer Stahlentwickler zu sein. Die von voestalpine gelieferten Ergebnisse bestätigen unsere Entscheidung.
Gerald Killmann, Vice President Toyota Motor Europe
Unsere Aufgabe liegt darin, einen hochfesten Stahl für komplexe Bauteile mit bester Umformbarkeit zu liefern, der die vom Kunden definierten Spezifikationen erfüllt. Das haben wir hier mit großem Erfolg erreicht.
Thomas Hebesberger, Prozessverantwortung Werkstofftechnik, Kaltband und Elektroband

TBF-Stahl mit hoher Bruchdehnung. Nach den vorgegebenen Spezifikationen entwickelte voestalpine einen Stahl in der TBF980-MPa-Klasse. Die zentrale Herausforderung lag in der Kombination von hoher Bruchdehnung und hoher Lochaufweitung. Die TBF-Lösung (TRIP-Bainitic-Ferrit Matrix) gewährleistet diese, erfüllt die engsten Dickentoleranzen und überzeugt mit exzellenten Verarbeitungseigenschaften. Der Beginn der Kooperation und damit das Go für die entsprechenden Entwickler erfolgte 2010. Die Produktion des C-HR begann planmäßig im Herbst 2016.

Partner von OEMs europa- und weltweit. Seit einem halben Jahrhundert ist voestalpine nicht nur Lieferant, sondern auch strategischer Partner der europäischen OEMs für hochqualitative Nischenprodukte. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Toyota ist noch jüngeren Datums, doch war dieses Projekt nicht das erste. Seit Anfang dieses Jahrtausends sind wir in regem Austausch und haben 2005 erstmals an Toyota geliefert. Das voestalpine-Team überzeugt mit fachlicher Kompetenz, analysiert aber auch die Abläufe und Prozesse beim Kunden genau und berücksichtigt diese bei der Projektabwicklung – ob bei einer Zusammenarbeit in Europa oder Fernost. So mündete das erfolgreiche Projekt unmittelbar in eine Intensivierung der Gespräche über neue gemeinsame Projekte.