voestalpine Automotive Notes

Information and inspiration to read 

Here you can access and read all the articles from our Automotive Notes Newsletter. If you want to subscribe to the newsletter, please do so here. This way you can be sure that you won’t miss a single article.

phs-uncoated steels are setting a new milestone for safety-related press-hardened components where the corrosion stress is low. This voestalpine steel is the new ace when it comes to maximum energy absorption and minimum deformation in a crash.

The Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) is an international organization that ranks several thousand companies worldwide every year with respect to their climate protection activities. In two independent rankings, voestalpine improved considerably, showing us that we are right on target. It doesn’t get any greener.

With a high degree of flexibility and stability, voestalpine is your reliable partner, especially in challenging times. In his newest video message, Peter Heinzl, Head of Sales, Automotive Industry, shows you something that voestalpine will never be.

The voestalpine material data for forming simulation are now available online, and crash simulation characteristics are provided as upon request.

High-strength HD steels and their weldability are essential in the automotive industry. The expert interview hits the welding spot and provides information about the most important current issues of the industry.

The properties of galvanized ahss high-ductility steels are a joy for forming specialists. Welders see this in a more differentiated way, especially with respect to liquid metal embrittlement. Here are top tips for tip-top welding results.

voestalpine sets a new standard in the thickness tolerances of hot-rolled wide strip with guaranteed narrowest tolerances across the entire width and length of the strip. The precise advantages will convince you.

voestalpine guarantees the narrowest thickness tolerances in hot-rolled steel strip, thus providing a higher level of quality and economic advantages. You will find out here how this precision mission was accomplished.

Do you want everything just right in lightweight automotive design? With respect to responsibility for the environment, people and the future, voestalpine is a sustainable step ahead. Discover amazing facts on our new website “Stella Sustainable,” where we focus on sustainability and provide you with interesting images and videos.

Xpert Interview on the making of the steel innovation CP1400HD, which sets new standards in cold forming in automotive lightweight design.

The high-ductility, complex-phase steel CP1400HD of voestalpine redefines the limits of what is feasible in automotive lightweight design.

New voestalpine plants in the field of secondary metallurgy and continuous casting voestalpine remains on the fast track in automotive lightweight design. New plants make it possible to produce high-strength steels of the highest quality with the high capacities required by the market.

Highest strip flatness, strength and excellent cold formability characterize the martensitic steel made by voestalpine. This makes it an ideal complement to hot forging steels for crash-relevant components.

Where does the current of opinions flow with respect to electromobility? An interactive presentation at this year's "Connected by Excellence" provided an overview of further developments in electromobility and insights into the opinions of representatives and experts in the industry.

Experts attending the Tri-country Corrosion Conference spoke about trends in corrosion research and introduced the new standard corrosion test for the automotive industry. We were there with a camera.

The Annual Supplier Quality Report published by Toyota Motor Europe names voestalpine as the best flat-rolled-steel supplier with respect to quality and service. For the key account team, this is both a source of great satisfaction and an incentive to become even better.

HR700LAS is a hot-rolled, micro-alloyed steel within the hot-rolled drive product group of ultralights steels that not only meets the requirements of VDA 239-100, but is also highly suitable for challenging component geometries such as narrow edge radii, particularly in combination with punched edges and the flanging of punched holes.

A perfect coating can only be as good as the surface it is applied to. New coating systems without any fillers require the highest surface quality on hot-dip galvanized steels for exposed panels in the automotive industry. voestalpine provides this high quality.

New classification of AHSS steels voestalpine is proposing a more uniform nomenclature that is based on the further processing of the material and that would more effectively characterize material properties and optimum fields of application.

Als eine der ersten Automobil-Zulieferer haben die voestalpine Stahl GmbH und das voestalpine Steel & Service Center die neuen IATF Qualitätsmanagement-Zertifikate erlangt.

Hot forming: Materials and production technologies.
voestalpine is a hot tip in the field of hot forming. A content overview shows you why different materials and production technologies offer decisive benefits to our customers.

Automotive Notes was launched a year ago. Peter Heinzl, Head of Automotive Sales, thanks readers and talks about future perspectives in a new video.

Complex-phase steel in thicknesses up to 3 mm.
voestalpine is giving engineers a new opportunity for optimum component design. Hot-dip galvanized complex-phase steels are now available in thicknesses up to 3 mm.

voestalpine is a trusted supplier to Toyota Motor Europe. In the course of a successful partnership, a special TBF steel was developed for an innovative seat rail for the Toyota C-HR.

The voestalpine Steel Division was honored with the Best Plant Award 2017. This is the first time in the history of PSA that this award was presented to a steelmaking company. Until now it has only been presented by the French car manufacturer to subsuppliers and component suppliers.

High-tech products such as flat screens are transported in Styrofoam elements. Coils made by voestalpine are also packaged in Styrofoam. The package of benefits in the innovative voestalpine solution is convincing.

If you rest, you rust! Experts at voestalpine offer glimpses of current corrosion protection research and testing. A video shows how zinc-magnesium is highly efficient in protecting modern cars from corrosion.

phs-directform®, a world novelty, is directly hot-formed, hot-dip galvanized steel strip to be used in corrosion-resistant light-weight components for the automotive industry. Tailor-welded blanks (TWB) can also be processed without additional expense.

Tubes and sections, corrosion-resistant and with high strength where it is needed. A patented rollform hardening process will soon be a part of auto manufacturing and will open new opportunities.

Construction of the new voestalpine production facility for the innovative field of hot forming is well underway. Production operations in the world's first line for the direct hot forming of phs-directform® are scheduled to begin in Schwäbisch Gmünd in the summer of 2016. The press tool must be installed in the production line before any parts can be pressed.

The requirements of car producers are very diversified with respect to structural autobody components, which feature ever lighter weights, higher strengths and greater stability. As an experienced and innovative specialist, voestalpine responds to the industry with phs-directform®, a material that meets the highest demands of hot-formed galvanized applications.

The next world novelty in the field of hot forming for press-hardened steels is on its way to the customer. Construction work is progressing smoothly on the world's first phs-directform® line in the voestalpine works of Schwäbisch Gmünd.

voestalpine Automotive-Notes

Information und Inspiration zum Nachlesen. 

Hier parken lesebereit die gesammelten Beiträge unseres Automotive-Notes Newsletters.
Wenn Sie in den Newsletter einsteigen wollen: abonnieren Sie ihn hier und kein neuer Artikel entgeht Ihnen.

Batteriekästen für E-Fahrzeuge müssen crashfest und brandsicher sein. voestalpine hat im Bereich Batteriekästen systematisch Kompetenz aufgebaut und ist ein Partner, der mehr als optimale Stähle bietet. Hersteller profitieren davon.

Die Werkzeugbeschichtung Duplex-VARIANTIC®-1400 setzt einen Meilenstein für die wirtschaftliche Kaltumformung von AHSS-Stählen. Wie in konzernweiter Zusammenarbeit Zukunft gemacht wird, verrät das Experteninterview.

Kaltumformung hoch wirtschaftlich. Profitieren Sie vom voestalpine-Multiplus mit ultrahochfesten Stählen über 1.000 MPa und einer neuen Beschichtung für die Umformwerkzeuge, die Werkzeugstandzeiten bis zu 460 % erhöht.

phs-uncoated-Stähle setzen einen neuen Meilenstein für sicherheitsrelevante pressgehärtete Bauteile, bei denen die Korrosionsbelastung gering ist. Wenn höchste Energieabsorption bei geringster Verformung im Crash verlangt ist, ist diese voestalpine-Entwicklung Trumpf.

Die internationale Organisation Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) bewertet im Rahmen eines Rankings jährlich mehrere tausend Unternehmen weltweit bezüglich ihrer Klimaschutz-Aktivitäten. voestalpine verbesserte sich in zwei unabhängigen Ratings, das zeigt, der Weg stimmt. Grüner geht’s fast nicht.

Mit Flexibilität und Stabilität ist voestalpine gerade in herausfordernden Zeiten der zuverlässige Partner. Dazu zeigt Peter Heinzl, Leitung Verkauf Automobilindustrie, in seiner Videobotschaft etwas, das Sie von voestalpine nie sehen werden.

Die voestalpine-Materialdaten für die Umformsimulation sind ab sofort online verfügbar; Kenndaten für die Crashsimulation werden wie gewohnt auf Anfrage bereitgestellt.

Höchstfeste HD-Stähle und ihre Schweißbarkeit sind ein Dauerthema. Das Interview fühlt einem Experten auf den Schweißpunkt und gibt Auskunft über den aktuellen Stand der Dinge.

Mit ihren Eigenschaften sind verzinkte ahss high-ductility Stähle für Umformer eine Freude. Schweißer sehen das differenzierter, besonders bezüglich der Flüssigmetallversprödung. Hier gibt es Top Tipps für Tipptopp-Schweißergebnisse.

voestalpine setzt bei Dickentoleranzen für warmgewalztes Stahlbreitband einen neuen Maßstab mit garantierten engsten Toleranzen über die gesamte Bandbreite und -länge. Die präzisen Vorteile überzeugen.

Bei warmgewalztem Stahlband garantiert voestalpine engste Dickentoleranzen. Das bringt Qualitäts- und wirtschaftliche Vorteile. Hier erfahren Sie, wie diese Präzisions-Mission erfüllt werden konnte.

Sie wollen im automobilen Leichtbau alles im grünen Bereich? Mit Verantwortung für Umwelt, Menschen und Zukunft ist voestalpine nachhaltig voraus. Entdecken Sie verblüffende Fakten fokussiert und visualisiert auf der neuen Website von „Stella Sustainable“.

Xpert Interview zum Making-of der Stahlinnovation CP1400HD, die im automobilen Leichtbau neue Maßstäbe in der Kaltumformung setzt.

Mit dem high-ductility Complexphasen-Stahl CP1400HD definiert voestalpine die Grenzen des Machbaren im automobilen Leichtbau neu.

Höherfeste Stähle für den automobilen Leichtbau sind eine Kompetenz der voestalpine. Nicht nur die Werkstoff- und Umformeigenschaften überzeugen, auch die besondere Bandebenheit der gelieferten Stahlbänder ist ein bei OEMs geschätztes Plus.

voestalpine bleibt auf der Überholspur im automobilen Leichtbau. Neue Anlagen ermöglichen hochfeste Stähle von höchster Qualität in der vom Markt benötigten hohen Kapazität.

Mit dem TechDay gibt die Hyundai Motor Group ausgewählten Lieferanten Gelegenheit, ihre Produkte und Leistungen direkt im südkoreanischen Entwicklungszentrum „Hyundai Motors Group Innovationcenter Namyang“ vorzustellen. voestalpine nutzte die ehrenvolle Einladung, sich als leistungsstarker Partner für den automobilen Leichtbau zu präsentieren und weiter zu profilieren, wie auch das positive Feedback bestätigt.

Wohin fließt der Strom der Meinungen bei E-Mobility? Ein interaktiver Vortrag beim heurigen „Connected by Excellence“ gab Ausblick in die weitere Entwicklung der Elektromobilität und Einblicke in Meinungen von Vertretern der Industrie und Fachexperten.

Auf der 3-Länder-Korrosionstagung informierten Experten zu Trends in der Korrosionsforschung und stellten den neuen Standard-Korrosionstest der Automobilindustrie vor. Wir waren mit der Kamera dabei.

Der „Annual Supplier Quality Report“ von Toyota Motor Europa weist voestalpine als besten Qualitäts- und Servicelieferanten für Flachstahl aus. Für das Unternehmen und das Key-Account-Team ist dies Freude und Ansporn.

Mit dem HR700LAS bietet die voestalpine einen warmgewalzten, mikrolegierten Stahl in der „hot-rolled drive“-Produktgruppe der ultralights-Stähle, der nicht nur die Anforderungen der VDA 239-100 erfüllt, sondern auch bestens für herausfordernde Bauteilgeometrien geeignet ist wie enge Kantradien, insbesondere in Kombination mit gestanzten Kanten und Durchstellungen an Stanzlöchern.

Bei einem perfekten Lackerscheinungsbild kommt es vor allem darauf an, was darunter ist. Neue füllerlose Lackiersysteme verlangen höchste Oberflächenqualität bei feuerverzinkten Stählen für die Karosserieaußenhaut.

voestalpine stellt einen Vorschlag für eine einheitliche, verarbeiterorientierte Nomenklatur zur Diskussion. Aus dieser Systematik lassen sich das Materialverhalten und das optimale Anwendungsgebiet sofort ersehen.

Warmumformung: Werkstoffe und Verfahren
Im Bereich der Warmumformung ist die voestalpine ein heißer Tipp. Warum das Angebot verschiedener Werkstoffe und Verfahren Kunden entscheidende Vorteile bietet, verrät der Überblick. Mehr erfahren

Als eine der ersten Automobil-Zulieferer haben die voestalpine Stahl GmbH und das voestalpine Steel & Service Center die neuen IATF Qualitätsmanagement-Zertifikate erlangt.

Complexphasen-Stahl in Dicken bis 3 mm
voestalpine erweitert für Konstrukteure die Möglichkeiten einer optimalen Bauteilauslegung. Feuerverzinkte Complexphasen-Stähle sind jetzt in Dicken bis 3 mm erhältlich.

Vor einem Jahr starteten wir mit Automotive-Notes. Peter Heinzl, Leitung Verkauf Automobilindustrie, sagt Danke allen Lesern und gibt einen filmreifen Ausblick.

Die voestalpine Steel Division wurde mit dem „Best Plant Award 2017“ gewürdigt. Erstmals in der Geschichte erhielt damit ein Stahlunternehmen die Auszeichnung, die vom französischen Autobauer bisher nur an Zulieferer und Komponentenhersteller verliehen wurde.

Toyota Motor Europe setzt auf voestalpine. In erfolgreicher Partnerschaft wurde ein spezieller TBF-Stahl für eine innovative Sitzschiene entwickelt, die im neuen Toyota C-HR zu Einsatz kommt.

Die Weltneuheit phs-directform® ermöglicht die direkte Warmumformung von feuerverzinktem Bandstahl zu hoch korrosionsbeständigen Automobil-Leichtbauteilen. Auch Tailor-Welded Blanks (TWB) können ohne Zusatzaufwand verarbeitet werden.

Hightech-Produkte wie Flatscreens werden in Styroporelementen transportiert. Bei voestalpine gehen Coils jedoch auch so verpackt in die ganze Welt. Das Paket an Vorteilen überzeugt bei der innovativen voestalpine-Lösung.

Sie ist so ungeliebt wie faszinierend. Ein Experte gibt Einblick in die aktuelle Korrosionsforschung und -prüfung. Dazu stellt ein Filmclip auf den Prüfstand, wie fähig Zink-Magnesium als Korrosionsschutz im modernen Automobilbau ist.

Profile und Rohre – korrosionsbeständig und hochfest dort, wo sie hochfest sein müssen. Ein patentiertes Rollform-Hardening-Verfahren rollt auf den Automobilbau zu und eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten.

Der Bau des neuen voestalpine-Werkes für die Weltneuheit auf dem Gebiet der Warmumformung schreitet zügig voran. Im Sommer 2016 soll bereits die Produktion auf der weltweit ersten Anlage für direkte Warmumformung von phs-directform® in Schwäbisch Gmünd beginnen. Damit zum Start auch Teile aus der Anlage kommen, muss das Presswerkzeug pünktlich vor Ort sein.

Die Anforderungen der Fahrzeughersteller in Bezug auf Karosserie-Strukturbauteile sind vielfältig. Alles muss leichter, fester und stabiler sein. voestalpine reagiert mit seinem Produkt phs-directform® als erfahrener wie innovativer Spezialist für die verzinkte Warmumformung auf diese anspruchsvollen Herausforderungen.

Die nächste Weltneuheit auf dem Gebiet der Warmumformung für pressgehärtete Stähle ist auf dem Weg zum Kunden. Der Baufortschritt für die weltweit erste phs-directform®-Anlage im voestalpine-Werk Schwäbisch Gmünd schreitet zügig voran.