Skip to main content
Tillbaka till översikten

[the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant 2010

2010-04-21 | 

The Prix Ars Electronica will be awarded for the 24th time this year. Entrants had until the Mid of March to submit their projects online. Prominent artists and scholars make up the juries that crown the winners. The jury session took place at the 16th of April at the voestalpine Stahlwelt. The Prix Ars Electronica will be awarded at the 3rd of September 2010.

For many years, voestalpine has not only supported the Prix as a whole but has also fostered innovative ideas concerning future issues by way of [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant. It is voestalpine’s declared objective to make possible the seemingly impossible– a mindset that is also behind the projects submitted for the Prix Ars Electronica. This year, too, in its efforts to actively drive innovative developments forward, voestalpine is fostering the implementation of new ideas through its art and technology grant in the category “the next idea”.

The aim of this art and technology grant presented annually by voestalpine and Ars Electronica is to honor new, inspirational and extraordinary ideas for the future and to provide support to develop them further. Artistic and social innovations are called for here, as are technological and scientific approaches. In each case the focus should be on striving to think ahead, developing and enhancing ideas and taking the next step forward.

This year the search is on for projects that tackle the three key issues of the future, namely energy, mobility and access: alternative models for using energy and resources in the future, concepts and ideas for a mobile and globalized world, measures and projects that allow participation and equality in the possibilities of the modern information society.

This category is aimed at those who have developed but not yet realized a concept in the field of art, design or technology. In addition to a grant from voestalpine, the winner will also have the opportunity to spend three months at the Ars Electronica Center in Linz as Artist/Scientist-in-Residence.

The Prix Ars Electronica

Since 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica has provided an interdisciplinary platform for all those who use the computer as a universal design medium in their creative work at the interface of art, technology and society.

The Prix Ars Electronica, the Ars Electronica Festival, the Ars Electronica Center – Museum of the Future, and the Ars Electronica Futurelab represent the four pillars of Ars Electronica Linz GmbH, a unique platform for digital art and media culture on account of its specific orientation and long-standing continuity.

The competition is organized by Ars Electronica Linz GmbH and ORF’s Upper Austrian regional studio in collaboration with the OK Center for Contemporary Art and the Brucknerhaus Linz. The Golden Nicas are presented during the Ars Electronica Festival each year. The Prix Ars Electronica is one of the most prestigious awards for creativity and pioneering spirit in the field of digital media.

Featuring seven categories, including a youth competition, and with internationally renowned artists from over 70 countries taking part, it serves as a barometer for trends in contemporary media art.

With 42,245 entries since 1987 and annual prize money totaling 117,500 euros it is the largest cash award worldwide for cyber art. In all, 6 Golden Nicas, 12 Awards of Distinction and some 70 Honorary Mentions as well as [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant are presented to the winners.