Thanks to successful voestalpine European races: Vergne is once again winner of ABB FIA Formula E Championship 3 minutes spent reading
Formula E

Thanks to successful voestalpine European races: Vergne is once again winner of ABB FIA Formula E Championship

Gerald Enzinger
10 years as editor-in-chief at SportWoche, and working as a journalist at racetracks around the world for 20 years. Writes in Austria for media outlets including Autorevue,, and the Kleine Zeitung.

The winner of the voestalpine European Races Trophy is also (once again) the winner of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship. Jean-Eric Vergne, the 29-year-old Frenchman from the DS TECHEETAH team, won the championship—just like he did last year on July 14, the French national holiday. He was the first to successfully defend this title—and the only one to have won two championships.

Sebastian Buemi (Nissan e.dams) and Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler) took second and third place in the overall standings. This means that the first three places were taken by still active Formula E champions—what an extraordinary race of champions this memorable season five championship has been.

The big winner: Jean-Eric Vergne, European.

With victories in Monaco and Bern and a third place in Berlin, “JEV” has earned 68 points in the last three of the voestalpine European races. He decisively outstripped his rivals Buemi (46), Di Grassi (28), Frijns (0) and Evans (26) considering that the lead in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship at the end of the season is just 17 points. And that Vergne lost the two final races in New York, dropping out of one and reaching seventh place in the other. As far as points, he clearly lost there to Buemi at 6:43.

The best team of the season: DS TECHEETAH

On Saturday in New York, it was still tough going for the French-Chinese team. The two pilots Vergne and André Lotterer were involved in two collisions at the same time. But despite another dropout by Lotterer, Vergne’s seventh place on Sunday was good enough for the DS TECHEETAH to win the prestigious team title. A great triumph for the team led by Mark Preston, especially in light of the fact that no other motorsport series in the world has so many participating car manufacturers. Another former Formula 1 driver was also pleased: Pedro de la Rosa, once with teams such as McLaren, Jaguar in Formula 1, and a close friend of Alexander Wurz, is under contract as a driver consultant to this team.

Great diversity: victories for Buemi and Frijns

Saturday was (finally) the day—after a two-year break, the great Formula E legend Sebastien Buemi racked up another win. It was the first victory for Nissan e.dams in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship and the first for the team since Nissan took over the entry from Renault. This means that eight (!) of eleven teams have won races this season, a sensational diversity that also extends to the drivers: there were nine different winners, and Envision Virgin Racing was the only team to have two winning drivers. After Sam Bird’s victory in Santiago and the success of Robin Frijns in Paris, it was once again the Dutchman who won the second race in New York thanks to a really great overtaking maneuver against Alexander Sims (BMW i Andretti Motorsport). Once again, Frijns demonstrated his extraordinary courage.

Spectacular visions: Porsche and Mercedes are coming

When season six of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship (the second year of the impressive Gen2 era) begins, two new and well-known manufacturers will be at the start: Porsche and Mercedes-Benz. Behind the scenes, the planning phase is in full swing for the Generation 3 cars that will be used as of season 9 (from 2022).

The outlook for the sixth season and the voestalpine European Races 2020

With the provisional calendar being released in June, the new season starts with two races on November 21 and 22, 2019 in Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia. The voestalpine European Races will take place in Rome, Paris, Berlin and twice in London. The two races on July 25 and 26, 2020 in the British capital will be the final races of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship. The other new addition to the calendar is a race in Seoul. There will be some rule changes—the driver who has set the fastest lap of each of the qualifying group will score a point in the championship. And a technical change—only one motor will be allowed in the future—the twin-motor solution that Nissan e.dams used to win in New York will be banned.

Gerald Enzinger