voestalpine Specialty Metals


We stock locally to service our customers’ delivery requirements.

Nickel based alloys are characterized by high toughness, and good resistance to oxidation and corrosion. Alloying additions to the base nickel content creates grades that vary in the relative range of the these characteristics, which imparting good mechanical strength and high temperature properties.

For the manufacture of these grades, voestalpine companies worldwide are known as the world leader in melting and remelting technology. Our 120-years of experience plus our metallurgy know-how and a focus on the development and production of high performance materials have meant we have become one of the most innovative producers of special steel in the world. Our company boasts the most modern vacuum induction melting (VIM) and vacuum arc remelting units (VAR) plus pressurized electroslag remelting units (PESR).

Industry standard Böhler grade DIN UNS EN AMS ASTM Others
Alloy X750 L750 N07750 B637
Alloy G3 L003 2.4619 N06985
Alloy C4 L004 2.4610 N06455 NiMo16Cr16Ti
Alloy C276 L276 2.4819 N10276 NiMo16Cr15W
Alloy C22 L022 2.4602 N06022 NiCr21Mo14W
Alloy 925 L925 2.4852 N09925
Alloy 825 L314 2.4858 N08825 NiCr21Mo
Alloy 725 L725 N07725 B637, B805
Alloy 718 (API) L718API 2.4668 N07718
Alloy 718 L718 2.4668 N07718 NiCr19NbMo/NiCr19Fe19Nb5Mo3 5662 B637
Alloy 625 L625 2.4856 N06625 NiCr22Mo9Nb 5666 B446-03 G1
Alloy 59 L359 2.4605 N06059
L901 2.4662 N09901 NiCr13Mo6Ti3 5660, 5661

The properties of duplex stainless steels are achieved with overall lower alloy content than similar-performing super-austenitic grades, making their use cost-effective for many applications. Duplex grades are characterized into groups based on their alloy content and corrosion resistance.

Industry standard Böhler grade DIN UNS EN AMS ASTM Others
A903 1.4462 S31803, S32205 X2CrNiMoN22-5-3 F51 AISI: F51, STN: 17 381
A911 1.4501 S32760 X2CrNiMoCuWN25-7-4
A911SA 1.4501 S32760 X2CrNiMoCuWN25-7-4 AISI: F55
A913 1.4410 S32750 X2CrNiMoN25-7-4 AISI: F53

Stainless alloys are divided into four basic groups: martensitic stainless steels, ferritic stainless steels, austenitic stainless steels, and precipitation hardening stainless steels.

When nickel is added, for instance, the austenite structure of iron is stabilized. This crystal structure makes such steels virtually non-magnetic and less brittle at low temperatures. For greater hardness and strength, more carbon is added, and these grades are defined as ferritic or martensitic alloys. The ferritic types achieve moderate increases in strength by cold working. The martensitic types become martensitic during heat treatment and achieve excellent strength.

Industry standard Böhler grade DIN UNS EN AMS ASTM Others
N400 1.4313 S41500 X3CrNiMo 13-4 A182 AISI: F6NM
N403 1.4313
N404 1.4418 X4CrNiMo 16-5-1

Industry standard Böhler grade DIN UNS EN AMS ASTM Others
Nitronic 60 P513 S21800 A276, A314, A479, A484
Nitronic 50 P511 S20910 X3CrNiMoCuNbN1-13-3 A182, A276, A479 AISI: XM 19
A220 1.4435 S31603 X2CrNiMo18-14-3 AISI: 316LUG, STN: 17 350
A405 1.4466 S31050 X1CrNiMoN25-22-2 AISI: 310 MoLN
A952 1.4562 N08031 B564, B649
A962RC 1.4539 N08904 X1NiCrMoCu 25-20-5 A182
A965SA 1.4547 S31254 X1CrNiMoCuN20-18-7 AISI: F44
A970 1.4529 N08926 X1CrNiMoCuN20-18-7

Industry standard Böhler grade DIN UNS EN AMS ASTM Others
A286 T200 1.4943, 1.4944, 1.4980 S66286 X4NiCrTi25-15, X5NiCrTi26-15 5731, 5732 AISI: 660
520B T670 1.4594 S45000 X5CrNiMoCuNb14-5
H500 1.4876 X10NiCrAlTi 32-21 B564

Precipitation hardening alloys of the 17-4 PH and 15-5 PH types achieve their strength by dissolving precipitates by solution annealing. An aging cycle then creates precipitates that strengthen the steel. They are usually characterized by extremely good corrosion resistance.

Industry standard Böhler grade DIN UNS EN AMS ASTM Others
17-4 PH N700 1.4542, 1.4548 S17400 X5CrNiCuNb16-4 5622, 5643 AISI: 630
15-5 PH N701 1.4545 S15500 X5CrNiCu15-5 5659 AISI: XM 12
13-8 Mo N709 1.4534 S13800 X3CrNiMoAl13-8-2 5629